Quick Jump

Proud Member of

Member Login:

Upcoming Events

August 23-24, 2014
The Ridge
August 23-24, 2014
Thompson International Speedway, Thomphson CT
August 27-31, 2014
Road Atlanta, Braselton, GA
August 30-31, 2014
Thunderhill Raceway Park, Willows, CA
September 6- 7, 2014
Autobahn Country Club, Joliet, IL
September 6- 7, 2014
Autobahn Country Club, Joliet, IL
September 6, 2014
Washington Circuit, Summit Point, WV
September 6- 7, 2014
Millington Regional Jetport, Millington, TN
September 13-14, 2014
Kansas Speedway, Kansas City KS
September 20-21, 2014
Pueblo Motorsports Park, Pueblo, CO
September 20-21, 2014
NOLA Motorsports Park, Avondale LA
September 20-21, 2014
NOLA Motorsports Park, Avondale LA
September 26-28, 2014
Miller Motorsports Park, SLC, UT
October 3- 5, 2014
Virginia International Raceway, Alton, VA
October 4- 5, 2014
Sebring International Raceway, Sebring, FL
October 4- 5, 2014
Buttonwillow Raceway, Buttonwillow, CA
October 11-12, 2014
INDE Motorsports Ranch
October 31- 2, 2014
Targa California
November 1- 2, 2014
Daytona International Speedway, Daytona FL



September 19, 2010 10:01 AM

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Miller Motorsports Park, Tooele, UT

National Auto Sport Association (NASA) 2010 National Championships presented by Toyo Tires.


Sponsored by: Toyo Tires, Hawk Brakes, Mothers Polishes, OG Racing, Sampson Racing Communications, MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development, Honda Performance Development


Group F National Championship Race, 4:10 p.m. (45 minute race)

Spec Miata


Spec Miata


Spec Miata was the largest field, with 41 competitors in evenly matched MX-5 Mazda Miatas, at the 2010 NASA National Championships presented by Toyo Tires and MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development.  Drivers who win a National Championship in Spec Miata are eligible for the MAZDASPEED Club Racing Shootout which can earn them a ride in the Playboy MX-5 cup pro series.  Additionally there was over $8,000 in cash available to the winner between Mazda and Toyo tires.  This gave every Mazda driver plenty of incentive to run hard.  The field was filled with heavy hitters in the Spec Miata world including Randy Evans (Spec Miata Champ), Dean Thomas (who just won the Ford Racing Mustang Driver Shootout at Miller Motorsports Park a few weeks prior to the NASA Nationals at Miller) and newly 16 year old (by just a few days) Tyler Vance.  In the qualifying races for the grid positions for the Spec Miata National Championship race Dan McKeever lost an engine so he had to start in the 26th position.  Sammy Valafar started on the pole.


When the green flag dropped Sammy Valafar ran away with the race, but a National Championship was not to be.  Due to some impound issues with the struts on Valafar’s Mazda he was disqualified after the race.  At the start, Dean Thomas, on the front row, was alone in the airflow, allowing a train of Miatas to his left to bump draft passed him.  Sixteen year old Tyler Vance was in the hunt for the first third of the race but then fell back to finish tenth.  The success story in Spec Miata was Dan McKeever in his black and orange number 10 Mazda Miata sponsored by Falcon Graphics and Reynolds Racing.  McKeever moved up though the tight field from 26th position all the way to the front to win the 2010 NASA Spec Miata National Championship.  In second place was Darin Polsley in his blue and silver number 51 Miata sponsored by Evil Genius Racing.  The final podium spot went to Tyler Dahl sponsored by Race Engineering and MiataCage.com.


View our comprehensive news archive